Tags

, , , , , , ,

I usually find it difficult to create artwork if any part of the painting is pre-determined. In this case, I painted this for my sister, as a Christmas gift. She has been asking me for years to create a painting for her, but I often struggled with putting onto the canvas, someone elses vision. I paint on a whim, allowing my emotions to guide me…so commissioned art, is not my forte.

Fortunately, with this painting, I only had the paint colors in mind…blue and grey. I think I can handle that…and so, I did.

Edge of Winter is one of my favorite paintings and my sister agrees. She loves it so much that she has commissioned me for a larger painting, but this time, she added some ideas of her own. I’m interested to see where the next one goes, as I step outside of my comfort zone to create a painting mostly driven by another’s vision…